General Information

On behalf of the Program Committee, we warmly welcome you to the Society for Cryobiology’s CRYO2023 conference to be held on the beautiful University of Minnesota (UMN) campus.

2023 is a very special year for the Society for Cryobiology. This year, we celebrate 60 years of Annual Meetings which bring together individuals with diverse expertise to deliver new cryopreservation technologies with immense societal impacts in broad sectors ranging from human health to biodiversity. While we look back proudly on our history, our eye is also firmly on the future of cryobiology, and this will be one of the defining themes of the meeting.

Minneapolis is well suited to host CRYO2023. UMN is home to the new Research Center Advanced Technologies for the Preservation of Biological Systems (ATP-Bio), led by the Institute for Engineering in Medicine and the Center for Engineering in Medicine and Surgery at Massachusetts General Hospital. Furthermore, Minneapolis is one of the largest Health Tech clusters in the US, and is home to a range of relevant health and life science technologies including medical devices, health care, pharma & biotech, health IT, and animal sciences. In fact, the Life Sciences are so entrenched in Minneapolis that the city is colloquially referred to as ‘Medical Alley’.

At this conference, we aim to celebrate a wide range of achievements in cryopreservation, including making transplantable organs/tissues available to those who need them, decreasing the time and cost of drug development, helping to feed the world, protect living organisms from extinction, and more.  This meeting will be a platform for us to reflect on our past achievements, share new insights and ideas, have constructive discussions, extend our networks and collaborations, and most importantly push forward into our next and greatest era of cryopreservation research.  

Dr. Shannon N. Tessier
CRYO2023 Executive Co-Chair 
Massachusetts General Hospital and Harvard Medical School

Dr. Charles Y. Lee
CRYO2023 Executive Co-Chair 
University of North Carolina at Charlotte

The Society for Cryobiology was founded in 1964 to bring together those from the biological, medical and physical sciences who have a common interest in the effect of low temperatures on biological systems. The purpose of the Society is to promote scientific research in low temperature biology, to improve scientific understanding in this field, and to disseminate and apply this knowledge to the benefit of mankind. Learn more about us.

CRYO2023 is the Society for Cryobiology’s 60th annual meeting. This three day event will host over 350 delegates from more than 35 countries including scientists and researchers from industry,  academia, government organizations and non-profits. 

With a special program celebrating 60 years of history, yet looking to the future, we invite you to join us for this important milestone meeting which will be remembered for years to come. 

Executive Co-Chair
 Shannon N. Tessier, PhD

Harvard Medical School &
Massachusetts General Hospital, USA

Executive Co-Chair
Charles Lee, PhD
UNC Charlotte, USA


Program Committee

Jason Acker, PhD
University of Alberta;
Canadian Blood Services, Canada

Iqra Azam
University of Saskatchewan, Canada

Daniel Ballesteros, PhD
University of Valencia, Spain

Allison Hubel, PhD
University of Minnesota, USA

Purva Joshi, PhD
Harvard Medical School & 
Massachusetts General Hospital, USA

Peter Kilbride, PhD
Cytiva, UK

Steven Mullen, PhD
Cook Medical, USA


Estefania Paredes, PhD
University of Vigo, Spain

Allison Parry-Jones, PhD
Wales Cancer Bank, UK

Matt Powell-Palm, PhD
Texas A&M University, USA

Rebecca Sandlin, PhD
Harvard Medical School & 
Massachusetts General Hospital, USA

Sumona Sarkar, PhD
National Institute for Standards &
Technology (NIST), USA

Christina Walters, PhD
US Department of Agriculture (USDA), US

Abstract submission will open in late 2022. Please check back soon for submission guidelines. 

Important Dates
Abstract First Call/Submission Opens: December 1, 2022
Abstract Submission Closes: February 20
Review Period: February 21 – March 13
Program Assembly: March 14 – March 24
Author Notification: March 27

Please note if you require a visa to enter the USA (not an ESTA) please submit your abstract ASAP and well in advance of the abstract deadline as the CRYO2023 organizers will prioritize early acceptance for  presenting authors who require a visa. 

Dayong Gao Young Investigator Award 
The Dayong Gao Young Investigator Award, sponsored by Goldsim, is an early career award for cryobiologists in the first 10 years of their post-PhD career. The award carries a cash prize of $5,000. For all relevant application information please see the Society for Cryobiology website. 

The deadline for applications is January 20th, 2023. 

Student Travel Awards and Grants 
Each year the Society for Cryobiology presents a number of awards and travel grants to students from around the globe to recognize excellence in student research and to assist in funding student participation at the meeting. 

  • Travel Grants – based on need. Typically from $300 – $1,000. 
  • Critser Award – based on need. For the top ranked student abstract. 
  • Crystal Award – $1,000. For the winner of the best student oral presentation. 
  • Poster Award – $500. For the winner of the best student poster. 

For more information on student awards and travel grants please see the Society for Cryobiology website. 

Note all students must also submit their abstract through the abstract management system in addition to applying for awards/grants with an extended abstract. 

Application information will be available soon. 

The deadline for applications is February 20th, 2023. 


Information will be available soon. Please contact us to be among the first to receive the CRYO2023 corporate opportunities guide. 

Our event organization team would be happy to answer any inquiries you have. Send us an email with your comment or question.